YAC Member Profile: Megan

MeganMy name is Megan and I am seventeen years from Edmonton, Alberta. In my life, my great-grandma as well as other female role models have been affected by breast cancer.  I wanted to join the Youth Advisory Council in order to help inspire change. Youth are tomorrow’s world leaders so, I think by educating the future we can help to change the future outcome for breast cancer. I think most youth today view breast cancer as only a disease older women get. Because of this, people are not learning how to help reduce their own risks of breast cancer. One of my goals of being a member of the Youth Advisory Council is to educate my peers so in the future, diagnostics will be made earlier, people will be exposed to fewer risks for breast cancer, and better medications will be able so we can all be a part of the future without breast cancer.

Until next time,

Leave a Reply

