YAC Member Profile: April

April

Hello, my name is April. I am 15 years old, and I live in Winnipeg. I found the Youth Advisory Council on Google while searching for volunteer opportunities in my community. I thought it was a great idea to get involved because I’m the type of person that loves to help others and make a change. Thankfully I’ve been blessed to not have been affected by breast cancer. But since you never know what will happen in the future, that is why getting involved with the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation is important to me. It gives me the benefit of looking out for certain things to help reduce my risk before it’s too late. My heart does go out to those who have been affected by breast cancer. To those people, just keep staying strong because there is always a light at the end of the tunnel.

Some may say youth can’t do much to making a difference, but as a matter of fact we can! We can make such a big difference to help let people learn to be aware of their breast health and that’s why being part of the Youth Advisory Council for me is such a big opportunity! I’m setting myself personal goals to increase awareness of breast cancer in Winnipeg! There is never a better time to start making a change but now.

With Lots of Love,

April is a Youth Advisory Council member & Guest Blogger on Unhooked.

Leave a Reply

