YAC Member Profile: Amy

Amy Funke Picture

My name is Amy, I am a 14 year old high school student and I live in Edmonton, Alberta. I first heard about the Youth Advisory Council when my mom was volunteering for the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation. She suggested that I should join and I thought it was a good idea.

I want the world to someday be cancer free. I thought that even doing something small, like the Youth Advisory Council, would help out. My great Grandmother had breast cancer as well as some of my family friends. Someday today’s youth will be the ones trying to find a cure for cancer, if we learn about it now, then we will be able to find a cure for it earlier. Also, if youth know the signs of breast cancer than they will be able to not only detect it in themselves, but detect it during the early stages. This way, youth are all working together to achieve the common goal off having a world free of breast cancer.

Sincerely

Leave a Reply

