YAC Member Profile: Linda

Linda Picture
Hi,

My name is Linda Holdbrook and I am 22 years old. I live in Calgary, Alberta, but I’m actually from Winnipeg, Manitoba! I’m a student at the University of Calgary, and I just joined YAC, UofC.

I’ve been volunteering in my community and on campus for the past few years, and it’s something I really love to do. I’ll be starting my last year of undergrad in September and I wanted to spend it doing something that would have a positive impact, as well as something fun.

I did some research and found out about what the Youth Advisory Council does and I felt like it was something I wanted to be a part of.

I haven’t personally been affected by breast cancer, nor do I know anyone who has, but I do know how devastating it can be to see someone you care about in so much pain. What I love about the Youth Advisory Council is that it allows us to do something. It provides an opportunity for us to have a voice that reaches more people than what we could do on our own.

We, as young people, play the most crucial part in a future without breast cancer because everything we do right now contributes to years to come, such as our lifestyle choices and the things we eat. Being a member of the Youth Advisory Council allows me to help spread information and awareness about breast cancer and the things we can do to reduce our risk, as well as help raise money for research and offer support.

Specifically as a young woman, I think it’s important for us to be in charge of our health. Cancer can affect anyone, regardless of how old you are or where you’re from, and if we are informed, we can make better decisions. I’m so excited to see what this experience will bring, and to meet fellow YAC members!

Cheers,

Leave a Reply

