Bash for Boobs

menwearpinktix

Happy New Year! I hope everyone is having a wonderful start to the new year. What are your New Year’s resolutions?

Every year, I make three resolutions. My resolutions for 2015 are the following:

1) Eat healthier.

2) Spend more time with friends and family.

3) Raise as much money as I can for Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation.

I am aware that many people say that New Year’s resolutions are pointless because they claim that we forget our goals within a few weeks. Personally, that is not the case. I strive to achieve each and every one of my resolutions, and so far, I am doing pretty well. I started working on resolution #3.

On Friday, January 9, CBCF YAC kicked off 2015 by hosting its perennial Bash for Boobs event at The Billiard Club. Our event was an incredible success! With the tremendous efforts and dedication of our lovely volunteers, we raised a grand total of $855 towards breast cancer awareness projects and research! Our night was not only a successful fund- raiser, but also an incredible opportunity for people to show off their skills in pool.

Jed Pettit planned, organized, and coordinated a pool tournament that drew huge crowds. Teams of two flocked around the pool table to sign up for the competition. From each jump shot to each bank shots, the crowds cheered with excitement. Personally, I was dazzled by the mastery and talent that many of these players had! I found myself in awe countless times.

As more and more people “pool” in their resources and talents, I strongly believe that YAC will make incredible steps towards raising breast cancer awareness and fund-raising for research.

Keep on YACing!
CARY

Cary is the Youth Advisory Council, University of Alberta Historian and guest blogger on Unhooked!

Leave a Reply

